Skip to content

How can you measure the strength of a college ministry?

November 20, 2009

I’ve recently reached out to some of my friends in the field of Collegiate Ministry to ask the question, “How do you assess or evaluate the strength of a college ministry?”

My motivation for asking honestly was because I didn’t know.

Before coming to NEWCHAPTER, I spent the last 10 years working in industries where the success of an organization is easily measured by “looking at the numbers”: percentage of growth over the previous year, P&L reports, operating profit, month to month market share growth, percentage over quota, and the list goes on and on.

Can you evaluate the strength, health, success, or whatever, of a college ministry by looking at the numbers? What numbers do we have to look at anyway? Size of weekly gatherings and number of student leaders maybe the most obvious.

Clearly I have more questions than answers.  Hence, the reason I’ve been reaching out to others to answer the question.

Here are a couple of links to similar discussions I’ve come across this week (all by people in the field of college ministry who are much more qualified than I).

Heart of Campus Ministry

aaronklnefelter.net

Exploring College Ministry

Are we ever going to come up with a list of specific criteria to use when evaluating the strength of a college ministry? My guess is, it’s not going to be that easy.

